The Bible Verse I Like the Most

Antarc
3 min read5 days ago
Photo by Rémi Walle on Unsplash

There are many heart-touching Bible verses, and one of them that touch my heart comes from Corinthians one chapter 13. The verse is as the following:

1 Corinthians 13

If I speak in the tongues[a] of men or of angels, but do not have love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. 2 If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but do not have love, I am nothing. 3 If I give all I possess to the poor and give over my body to hardship that I may boast,[b] but do not have love, I gain nothing.

4 Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. 5 It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. 6 Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. 7 It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

8 Love never fails. But where there are prophecies, they will cease; where there are tongues, they will be stilled; where there is knowledge, it will pass away. 9 For we know in part and we prophesy in part, 10 but when completeness comes, what is in part disappears. 11 When I was a child, I talked like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I put the ways of childhood behind me. 12 For now we see only a reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known.

13 And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.

This verse emphasizes the importance of the purpose behind our action. The things that are done by us shouldn’t just be judge by human being’s perspective as there are many things so hard to be measured. This verse reminds me of holding my heart to pause for a moment and to think about my intention of taking action. To think about the action I’ve taken is out of a good will or the selfish interest.

People are easy to fall into the trap of taking the action to meet the worldly or secular value but forget the most important things of our inner intention. Because from God’s eyes, any action taken without love or based on our own interest is useless, even the action might seems good from people’s perspective. Sometimes, we may want to show people how we help people in need or please people to make us to be like a good man, but lose the most important value of love. Once love is lost, even the things are completed or actions are taken, they may all seem cold, because it loses the temperature of love. Therefore, I do hope I can hold this in my heart and remind me again of what love is via sharing this. Hope you enjoy this and together let’s spread a little bit of love day by day to people or the environment around us to make this world be a better place filled with love.

Photo by Tyler Nix on Unsplash

--

--